History of Skal

  • 1969

    Skal International Seoul was founded in 1969. The first President to hold office was Myong-Suk Suh. Other founding members include Henry Oh Snr. and J.P. Sho (Travel Press Korea).

  • 1977

    In 1977, the 6th Asian Skal Congress was held in Seoul under the presidency of Dante David. It was the first time many International Skalleagues had visited Korea.

  • 1987

    In 1987, Skal CLub Seoul hosted the 16th Asian Skal Congress under the presidency of Dal-Hoie Kim during 30 August – 1 September 1987.

  • 2009

    Skal Club Seoul once again hosted the 38th Skal Asia Congress in 2009 in Incheon under the presidency of Adrian Slater. The Opening Ceremony was held at the Songdo Convensia.

  • 2010

    In 2010, Skal Club Seoul & Incheon were awarded the honor of hosting the 2012 Skal World Congress during the 71st World Congress in Sydney under Robert Sohn’s presidency.

  • 2012

    Skal Seoul and Incheon co-hosted the 73rd Skal International World Congress, 2 – 7 October 2012:

    − 2012 Skal Seoul President: William Oh
    − 2012 Skal Incheon President: Young Kil Lee
    − The 73rd Skal World Congress Organizing Committee Chairman: Robert Sohn